“Fire On The Water”

 

Last summer I did an overnight trip to Ice Lakes Basin in the San Juan Range of southwestern Colorado. For those who have never been to this area I have to say that it is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been in. At the same time I will also say that even though the trail is only 2.2 miles long, the 1200 feet of elevation gain going in makes it feel a touch longer. Ok, “a touch” may be a bit of an understatement, the walk in actually feels like about 10 miles.

None the less, on arrival at the lower basin in the middle of summer you are rewarded with a sea of wildflowers, and soon all the aches and pains of the hike are easily forgotten and instead your mind drifts to the myriad of waterfalls and peaks that seem to circle you.

The image, “Fire On The Water,” was taken about a hundred feet from my camp. I had just set up camp and was just leaving camp to go wade through the sea of wildflowers when I turned around and saw this creek tumbling down from the upper basin to the lower. My eye was drawn to the bright red rock in the foreground and led into the swirling cascade, I just couldn’t not shoot an image. This is one of my favorites from the trip, but there are a couple others that I really like as well.

If you ever have the chance to make it to this magical place during the middle of summer when the wildflowers are blooming I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

