Four Corners Commission Regional Juried Art Show – Durango Arts Center – Friday 5-7pm

Come check out the local talent! The Four Corners Commission Regional Juried Art Show is having it’s reception tomorrow night from 5-7pm in the Barbara Conrad Gallery at the Durango Arts Center. It’s a mixed media show and there looks to be a lot of really good work. I will have two images in the show, one image called “Ancient,” was shot in Southeastern Utah deep in a canyon that was once inhabited by Ancestral Puebloans. The image is of a ruin with a very interesting pattern on the ceiling of the alcove above, and if you look closely there are also handprints painted on the rock wall under the ceiling.

The second image I have in the show is called “Red Pebbles,” and it was shot in the Bisti Badlands as a storm was approaching. The storm clouds were thick that day as they blew in toward the barren expanse of the Bisti, but as I looked up I saw them part and in the distance there was a beautiful mesa framed by the parting clouds. The red pebbles in the foreground also caught my attention as I saw the image come to life in front of me.

The show will run from March 2nd to the 31st, so come by and check out all the great work on display!

One thought on “Four Corners Commission Regional Juried Art Show – Durango Arts Center – Friday 5-7pm

  1. I ended up taking second place in the show and I was very honored to have my work displayed beside so many great and talented artists. I wanted to once again thank Juror Verne Stanford, a Santa Fe based artist and gallery director, for taking the time to select the pieces for the show and a special thanks for selecting my image “Ancient,” as the second place winner.

Leave a Reply

