Which one do you like?

So I am in debate with myself about which of these two images I should submit for an upcoming juried photo exhibition. Both of the images were taken within minutes of one another however they both have a very different feel to them.

The first image was captured as the sun was still not quite over the horizon, the purple cast was being amplified and saturated by the large fog banks encompassing the distant mountains. The second image was captured about ten minutes later as the sun had come up barely over the horizon, changing the color of the light and adding a more crimson touch.

I feel that both images portray the deep connection that I felt to the incredible sunrise before me but I am still in debate as to which one I should submit… Let me know what you think!

The first image is named “Purple Morning.”

Purple Morning

The second image is named, “Reflections.”

Reflections

I would love to hear your opinion!

5 thoughts on “Which one do you like?

  1. The first one. That’s the image that really stood out to me as I read your last blog post. I think one of the reasons I love it is because of the fantastic reflections on the water, which are kind of lost in the second image.

  2. I’m late to the party here Ryan, but I’ve only just recently happened upon your site. Image one would be my pick because of the color and the fog, but…for kicks you could maybe push the red saturation slider way up (as seems to be being done on so many images we see these days) on image two and enter it as photomanipulation. I’m betting, however, that’s not really your style at all.
    Regards, Mark H (photophart.com)

    • Hey Mark,
      Better late than never, of course. Thanks for the comment. I like both of them and it’s hard for me to say which one I like better to be honest. I agree that pushing the reds could get some interesting effects however I generally try to stay in the realm of what I saw at the scene while I was photographing. That’s by no means saying that I don’t post-process my images because I definitely do a lot of post-processing, but I try to use the post-processing as a tool to help better express what I felt when I was there.
      None the less, thanks for the comment and I just might try pushing up the red saturation just for kicks to see what kind of effect I can get.
      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

