Gear Review – GSI Drip Coffee Maker

Possibly my favorite piece of backcountry gear! The GSI Ultralight Java Drip Coffee Maker is awesome!

I can’t say enough good things about this simple, inexpensive, recent addition to my backcountry gear collection. If you’re like me you like a nice cup of fresh brewed coffee in the morning. And if you’re like me than you often find yourself in places that don’t exactly offer an easy way of brewing a nice cup of coffee. Enter the GSI Drip Coffee Maker.

20140827-3411-29265

This simple device truly turns my mornings spent in the field chasing good light a joy. To use it I just boil some water on my stove. While the water is boiling I attach the three small plastic clips on the bottom of the coffee maker onto my mug, put a cone filter into the hanging mesh bag (this is not necessary but I find it drips slower this way making a better brew), and then spoon my coffee into the filter.

When the water is done boiling I pour it slowly over the coffee and voila, an awesome cup of coffee! I’ll tell you that this beats all other methods of backcountry brewing that I have tried, including instant coffees and french presses. Hands down one of my most valuable pieces of backcountry gear!

One thought on “Gear Review – GSI Drip Coffee Maker

  1. Photographs are pure and original. I have never viewed the beauty of the rocks you have photographed! Well Done! Thank you, and enjoy your coffee during your day, ( we use the same method during hurricane season..no electricity)…
    Thank you for sharing your photos Do you capture Birds with your Lens?

Leave a Reply

